Welcome to Soldier of Fortune Community Forums
02 Dec 2021, 18:17


View unanswered postsView active topics



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
GOG SoF Platinum Not working on Windows 10 64 bit 
Author Message
United States of America

User avatar

Joined:
Sun May 09th, 2021
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
I recently bought SoF Platinum on GOG, but even after installing SoF+ I mean extracting the zip into the directory and replacing the default GOG directories and files with SoF+ and using Dende's Windows 10 registry fix the game still won't start. I even manually renamed the SoF.exe to mohaa.exe. No dice. I only get the error: 'LoadLibrary("defsnd.dll") failed.' I have no idea how to get this to go away as I've never tried to play this game before. I did read that SoF 2 suffers from the same issue.


10 May 2021, 01:18
Profile
Israel

User avatar

Joined:
Sun Dec 04th, 2011
Posts: 402
Reply with quote
You need an "SoF.exe" in your sof folder, thats what the snd error thing is (just a weird thing for sof)
so rename mohaa? back to sof.exe

If your sof1 still wont start im guessing that you maybe installed the wrong sofplus version? The SoFplus client for GoG is an .exe patch: (please read the readme.txt)

https://sof1.megalag.org/sofplus/downlo ... 31-gog.zip

But i dont have the gog version to test if that would break it :(


10 May 2021, 19:02
Profile
United States of America

User avatar

Topic author
Joined:
Sun May 09th, 2021
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Ok, I finally got it to work. I redownloaded the GOG patcher even though I already was using the correct one. Maybe the original download was corrupted as the patcher would never work, but now compared to the community edition the sliding like I'm on ice is much much worse on the GOG version and I can't seem to stop it at all. Someone on Discord told me to turn down the fps but how do I do that?


10 May 2021, 21:36
Profile
Israel

User avatar

Joined:
Sun Dec 04th, 2011
Posts: 402
Reply with quote
Lets just confirm you have sof+ installed first. Can you see the console by pressing escape whilst not in a game or open the console while in game with the tilde? button?

The fps lag is fixed by sofplus so you shouldnt be experiencing it because:

Code:
_sp_cl_frame_delay

Minimum delay between frames (in milliseconds) (default = 7) (which caps your fps at 142~ stopping the lag)

The community version has sof+ thats why its not lagging.


10 May 2021, 22:46
Profile
Canada

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Jan 22nd, 2014
Posts: 205
Reply with quote
He is interested in Single Player.
Single player with Autoexecs and high FPS is problematic if I recall correctly.

Latest CE apparently has no AE.

Knew you'd be on top of it ;)

Back home tomorrow sometimes, see you on the servers.


11 May 2021, 00:40
Profile
United States of America

User avatar

Topic author
Joined:
Sun May 09th, 2021
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Hi, turns out the lag spike was only in that one area in level 1 near the security booth the one you have to crouch jump to get into. I jumped and it stopped. It's just a game bug I'm guessing. I'm using SoF+. I was able to open the console fron the main menu. When I wasn't using SoF+, the game wouldn't even boot so lacking SoF+ wasn't what was causing the lag.


18 May 2021, 01:38
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 
Topic Views: 680


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Top
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
www.sof1.org