Welcome to Soldier of Fortune Community Forums
09 May 2021, 04:48


View unanswered postsView active topics



Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Searching for the first release CD 
Author Message
Netherlands

User avatar

Joined:
Mon Nov 21st, 2011
Posts: 949
Reply with quote
Last post of the previous page :
Trekker wrote:
Hmmm, mine has no version on the CD any where. I think I have few of these, at least 3, have to dig them up.

I copied the CD to a folder and RARed it, then uploaded it to Persian Uploader 301 Moved Permanently but don't see it there?! SOF103.rar 632,228 KB.

Wonder if it requires his blessing before it goes "public"

It is also possible it timed out, I was uploading it using a 1Mb upload. Couple weeks from now I go back to 10Mb up.

If my upload didn't work, I will make an ISO off the CD and upload it elsewhere, this way, the folder's date will be kept the same.


no blessing needed. Perhaps a server side limit?


19 Aug 2015, 22:20
Profile WWW
Canada

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Jan 22nd, 2014
Posts: 192
Reply with quote
Persian, the following could be an error ... or not:

Quote:
Upload Rules:

Maximal Filesize: 1000000000000000000 bytes
Minimal Filesize: 1 bytes


That is 1 EB/ Exabyte (1 billion GB)

If it is 1,000,000,000,000,000,000 bits, that would be nearly 114 TB (114,000 GB, which is quite possible these days)

With 1Mb/s upload around 1.45 hrs to complete, it is possible it just timed out!?


19 Aug 2015, 23:05
Profile
Netherlands

User avatar

Topic author
Joined:
Fri May 23rd, 2014
Posts: 504
Reply with quote
Installed the cd (on xp)and zipped the files.

I've got SoF1.03-/SoF1.07f-SoFplus2014 working on Win7-64bits.
Spoiler:


20 Aug 2015, 04:03
Profile
Canada

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Jan 22nd, 2014
Posts: 192
Reply with quote
Sauron, I thought you wanted to try the SP which was changed in 1.06.

Not many bothered with 1.04 (except some DM players) and 1.05 (pure server plus sound). Some still kept 1.03 till 1.07e/ f because they HAD no choice (WON to GameSpy)

Most players just did 1.03, 1.06 and 1.07f

From 1.03 up to 1.07f, there were different "communities" if you will (There were two "main" sets of servers/ clients) Each patch resulted in some player losses.

I don't know if anyone remembers un_installing the patched version just to go find and get buddies (boneheads) to upgrade.


20 Aug 2015, 05:29
Profile
Great Britain

User avatar

Joined:
Mon Nov 21st, 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 3086
Reply with quote
Trekker wrote:
With 1Mb/s upload around 1.45 hrs to complete, it is possible it just timed out!?

Using upload scripts (like attachments on a forum) will have limitations set by the php.ini file on the server, default used to be 2MB, probably still is; if you run your own dedicated or VPS you can change these settings yourself, on shared hosting, you have to ask the host.
A half decent host will up the limit (32mb here) even so, if the server's busy, these small files can still time out.


20 Aug 2015, 07:37
Profile WWW
Netherlands

User avatar

Topic author
Joined:
Fri May 23rd, 2014
Posts: 504
Reply with quote
Trekker wrote:
Sauron, I thought you wanted to try the SP which was changed in 1.06.

Not many bothered with 1.04 (except some DM players) and 1.05 (pure server plus sound). Some still kept 1.03 till 1.07e/ f because they HAD no choice (WON to GameSpy)

Most players just did 1.03, 1.06 and 1.07f

From 1.03 up to 1.07f, there were different "communities" if you will (There were two "main" sets of servers/ clients) Each patch resulted in some player losses.

I don't know if anyone remembers un_installing the patched version just to go find and get buddies (boneheads) to upgrade.


My main reason was that I have always been able to play a non patched version of ref_gl.dll (on win7) & since some players have trouble with everything resetting on the community edition i toughed it might be useful for them.

Fuckemup wrote:
Doesn't matter wich sof download you download nowadays as all of them brings you right into 1,07 patch/version.
Gold(1,06) and original (1,03) is all time gone by now mate.  Back in the days you had to upgrade your 1,03 to gold version then platinum 1,07 by yourself.... install patches from soffiles.com  :)

It does matter, as long as you don't install the latest sofplus right away.
This was idd what I did, only its not doable on Win7 / Win 64bits. (So to install & patch them I had to do this on Winxp32bits. )
1.07F-SoFplus, is installed at WinXp32bits packed & send to Win764bits, unextraxted, opened, played. with no error.
Version tree = "1.03, 1.04, 1.06, 1.07f and 1.07f-SoFplus."
Attachment:


CD-key menu patch for 1.03/1.04/1.05/1.06 would come out super handy if anyone has/made one.


Last edited by Sauron on 20 Aug 2015, 10:39, edited 1 time in total.



20 Aug 2015, 10:11
Profile
Bolivia

User avatar

Joined:
Sun Mar 08th, 2015
Posts: 424
Reply with quote
So all original SoF CDs are 1.03? I just want to know why it says v112 on my CD. It would warrent me atleast 20k SoF rep points.


20 Aug 2015, 10:15
Profile
Netherlands

User avatar

Topic author
Joined:
Fri May 23rd, 2014
Posts: 504
Reply with quote
Yes.
Upload it as .iso/.bin = some more awesome SoF1 rep points.

v112(beneluxe) is probably cd version not game version.
german cd could be something like v113
us&ca 1.10/1.11


20 Aug 2015, 10:37
Profile
Bolivia

User avatar

Joined:
Sun Mar 08th, 2015
Posts: 424
Reply with quote
My cd is exactly the same as Trekkers, must be the same version but its only 700 mb so ill upload tonight/tomorrow.


20 Aug 2015, 14:53
Profile
Canada

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Jan 22nd, 2014
Posts: 192
Reply with quote
Sauron wrote:
My main reason was that I have always been able to play a non patched version of ref_gl.dll (on win7) & since some players have trouble with everything resetting on the community edition i toughed it might be useful for them.

Version tree = "1.03, 1.04, 1.06, 1.07f and 1.07f-SoFplus."


I have seen few posts on other sites with players claiming same but none of them included their system spec as well as driver versions/ updates ... remember one guy had rather a strange/ unique solution having to do with copying sof.exe and renaming it to mohaa.exe, he claimed having sof.exe and mohaa.exe in the main folder, fixed his issue!

To apply the 1.05 patch, you cannot do it from 1.04; you'd have to uninstall all, reinstall 1.03 and apply the 1.05 patch.

Same holds true for 1.07e to 1.07f, we had to apply 1.07f to 1.06. Not sure if 1.06 would work over 1.04/ 1.05 and if it had to be applied to 1.03!

Now that you have them all, why not do 1.05?

Version tree as it was released, buggy or not, was:

Demo, Demo 57 patch, 1.03, 1.04, 1.05 1.06 (Gold), 1.07e, 1.07f (Platinum)

ShocK wrote:
Using upload scripts (like attachments on a forum) will have limitations set by the php.ini file on the server, default used to be 2MB, probably still is; if you run your own dedicated or VPS you can change these settings yourself, on shared hosting, you have to ask the host.
A half decent host will up the limit (32mb here) even so, if the server's busy, these small files can still time out.


Short and simple, tnx.


20 Aug 2015, 20:12
Profile
Netherlands

User avatar

Joined:
Thu Nov 24th, 2011
Posts: 2087
Reply with quote
Mohaa.exe...isn't that from Medal of Honor?

How the hell did that guy find this solution...questions...


21 Aug 2015, 07:48
Profile
Netherlands

User avatar

Topic author
Joined:
Fri May 23rd, 2014
Posts: 504
Reply with quote
I think it works cuz of some redirection to other dll files located at C:/windows/system32.


21 Aug 2015, 08:05
Profile
Netherlands

User avatar

Joined:
Mon Nov 21st, 2011
Posts: 949
Reply with quote
Trekker wrote:
Persian, the following could be an error ... or not:

Quote:
Upload Rules:

Maximal Filesize: 1000000000000000000 bytes
Minimal Filesize: 1 bytes


That is 1 EB/ Exabyte (1 billion GB)

If it is 1,000,000,000,000,000,000 bits, that would be nearly 114 TB (114,000 GB, which is quite possible these days)

With 1Mb/s upload around 1.45 hrs to complete, it is possible it just timed out!?


Quite possible, yes. :lol:


21 Aug 2015, 09:07
Profile WWW
Ukraine

User avatar

Joined:
Fri Aug 21st, 2015
Posts: 21
Reply with quote
Renaming SoF.exe to Mohaa.exe, i remember that crap lol!
I believe that worked on most Quake Games.

Emirate wrote:
Zino wrote:
Hey,

i installed uac, made an acc. and logged in etc.
then i select the game sof and press start scanning, now its trying to start my sof game.
here comes the problem, to get my sof to work, i had to rename my sof.exe to mohaa.exe.
so uac cant start my sof game.

does anybody knows how to fix this?


ehm...I think you've done something wrong with selecting the game. Mohaa.exe is the .exe that comes with the game Medal of Honor. If you've done the gameselecting part correctly I'm afraid i'm not the one who's able to help you  :(


21 Aug 2015, 09:55
Profile
Canada

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Jan 22nd, 2014
Posts: 192
Reply with quote
Emirate wrote:
Mohaa.exe...isn't that from Medal of Honor?

How the hell did that guy find this solution...questions...

Found the page:

https://versatile1.wordpress.com/2012/1 ... t-tutorial

I thought he would lunch the renamed sof.exe though!


21 Aug 2015, 14:06
Profile
Bolivia

User avatar

Joined:
Sun Mar 08th, 2015
Posts: 424
Reply with quote
Miss those sick MP games like SoF1, SoF2, CoD1, MOHAA and RTCW.

Dont make games like that anymore.


21 Aug 2015, 16:12
Profile
Canada

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Jan 22nd, 2014
Posts: 192
Reply with quote
I still play RTCW


21 Aug 2015, 16:51
Profile
Tuvalu

User avatar

Joined:
Sat Dec 10th, 2011
Posts: 2253
Reply with quote
Trekker wrote:
Sauron, I thought you wanted to try the SP which was changed in 1.06.

Not many bothered with 1.04 (except some DM players) and 1.05 (pure server plus sound). Some still kept 1.03 till 1.07e/ f because they HAD no choice (WON to GameSpy)

Most players just did 1.03, 1.06 and 1.07f

From 1.03 up to 1.07f, there were different "communities" if you will (There were two "main" sets of servers/ clients) Each patch resulted in some player losses.

I don't know if anyone remembers un_installing the patched version just to go find and get buddies (boneheads) to upgrade.


Thats what i tried to explain to some players.
There was different "sof Worlds"
Each version had there own servers/clans/players... that kinda ruined the game a Little bit.

I remember after updating to 1,06 gold patch me and Skaven uninstalled and reinstalled game to go back to 1,03 world. There was many players and clans stuck there lmao
And we actually told players to update to 1,06.
I remember DDM Ganjaman later (Fi@ Shady) listened and thanked us alot  :lol:    

And i also remember Raven fucktup the game after 1,06-1,07 releases it became more like Shotgun of Fortune as the shotgun became more effective then any other gun, in 1,03 HMG and SMG were stronger then the shotgun even on Close range.  :)


21 Aug 2015, 20:12
Profile
Netherlands

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Nov 23rd, 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4064

Evilan
evilan
Reply with quote
Your not supposed to leak that history, Jr. Enemy of the current SoF World Order.


21 Aug 2015, 20:28
Profile
Netherlands

User avatar

Topic author
Joined:
Fri May 23rd, 2014
Posts: 504
Reply with quote
Fuckemup wrote:
Trekker wrote:
Sauron, I thought you wanted to try the SP which was changed in 1.06.

Not many bothered with 1.04 (except some DM players) and 1.05 (pure server plus sound). Some still kept 1.03 till 1.07e/ f because they HAD no choice (WON to GameSpy)

Most players just did 1.03, 1.06 and 1.07f

From 1.03 up to 1.07f, there were different "communities" if you will (There were two "main" sets of servers/ clients) Each patch resulted in some player losses.

I don't know if anyone remembers un_installing the patched version just to go find and get buddies (boneheads) to upgrade.


Thats what i tried to explain to some players.
There was different "sof Worlds"
Each version had there own servers/clans/players... that kinda ruined the game a Little bit.

I remember after updating to 1,06 gold patch me and Skaven uninstalled and reinstalled game to go back to 1,03 world. There was many players and clans stuck there lmao
And we actually told players to update to 1,06.
I remember DDM Ganjaman later (Fi@ Shady) listened and thanked us alot  :lol:    

And i also remember Raven fucktup the game after 1,06-1,07 releases it became more like Shotgun of Fortune as the shotgun became more effective then any other gun, in 1,03 HMG and SMG were stronger then the shotgun even on Close range.  :)

Got a cd-key / patch I could use to check this out?
-edit-
ben2-bac7-buz6-jad3-9742

This also explains why there once was a JPN with blue side SMG.

SoF 1.03 on Win7 64b  :ghehe:


22 Aug 2015, 11:10
Profile
Netherlands

User avatar

Joined:
Mon Jun 25th, 2012
Posts: 113
Reply with quote
Sauron wrote:
Yes.
Upload it as .iso/.bin = some more awesome SoF1 rep points.

v112(beneluxe) is probably cd version not game version.
german cd could be something like v113
us&ca 1.10/1.11

ISO files of original SoF CD's of any SoF version (1.03, the german versions, ...) would be appreciated.

A coworker gave me an original V112 CD (without box), but it's mostly unreadable because of scratches. I do own two others (in original box). Both are version 1.07f, so I've never played the older versions:


22 Aug 2015, 14:06
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Topic Views: 3078


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Top
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
www.sof1.org